top of page
Anchor 1


Te Puna Wai Matauranga o Wairakei (Spring of Knowledge)

Participants will attain the following pre-employment qualifications which will offer a wide range of NZQA unit standards leading towards nationally recognised qualifications:

  • New Zealand Certificate in First Aid

  • Defensive Driving

  • Literacy & Numeracy

  • Site Safe

Participants will have the opportunity to gain a wide range of Nationally recognised qualifications on the New Zealand Qualification framework and a range of industry-based training that will offer qualifications from, Level 1 - Level 4, in the following industries:

  • Forestry

  • Farming

  • Energy (Geothermal)

  • Agriculture or Horticulture

  • Construction

  • Cultural Tourism

  • Hospitality

Anchor 2

MT TAUHARA:  Legend has it that when the earth was young, there were five mountains clustered together near ‘te Puku o te Ika a Maui' (the central north island).   They included Tongariro, Tauhara, Taranaki, Putauaki, and Pihanga (the only female).   Because of the outstanding beauty of Pihanga, the warrior mountains fought for her affections and after a long battle, Tongariro emerged victorious.   The defeated mountains were to travel as far away from the domain of Tongariro before sunrise, or they would be fixed to the spot.   Putauaki travelled eastward, Taranaki travelled westward, Tauhara travelled slowly, all the time looking back longingly at Pihanga, and only reaching the other end of Lake Taupo nui-a-Tia, where he stands today.

bottom of page